Pluto: A Planet No More

The New Solar System

Pluto lost its status of being a planet after the definition of planet was changed by the International Astronomical Union. “Pluto was automatically disqualified because its oblong orbit overlaps with Neptune’s” the BBC reports.

Now “the eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune,” said the IAU resolution which was passed in the Czech capital by 2,500 astronomers. Pluto now falls into the new category of “dwarf planets”.

tags: dwarf planet, eight planets, IAU, International Astronomical Union, Pluto

Leave the First Comment!

313 posts. 18 pages. 423 comments. 53 categories. 27 queries. 0.274 seconds.
Blog © 2005-2014 Daniel M. Gattermann. Logos, trademarks, etc. © by their respective owners.